You’ve got WHAT in your nappy?

I should start off saying that the nappy making business has GOT to be lucrative! I have a 19 month old and reckon I’ve spent at least $1,000 on nappies so far. Maybe more, and that doesn’t include the wipes or little bags to put them in.

Nappies are like everything else – they’re constantly being upgraded. Better design, better fit, better absorption…. So it’s really no surprise that nappies change colour from white. Last weekend, the new denim look nappies were launched by Huggies in the US.

 

Stuart Schneider, Snr Brand Director at Huggies said this:

“Jeans have always been a Mommy fashion must-have, but now it’s time for their little ones to steal the style.  The design helps babies stay trendy while keeping dry with the same revolutionary design and proven leakage protection that moms have come to know and trust from the Huggies brand.”

What I don’t understand behind this marketing is the fact that nappies are supposed to be like the baby’s underwear… covered up and receptacles of waste.

Is this a gimmick used by Huggies to cash in on the “Why Bother With Clothing – Underwear Is Plenty” movement that seems to be taking hold of everyone from Lady Gaga to Miley Cyrus?

Is this a way to make parents think its ok to let their kid go out in public showing their nappy? Isn’t this a bit ‘white trash?’ 

I mean, once they hit a certain age it’s highly inappropriate. You wouldn’t let your 5 year old go shopping with you at Coles wearing just his Ben Ten underpants… would you?  Maybe I’m pedantic, but any time my daughter has worn a skirt, I make sure the nappy is covered over with a frilly pair of what I call over-pants. It’s like bloomers for babies.

So anyway the denim diaper story somewhat made news. Well, let’s just say that earlier in the week, numerous bloggers took note.

 

I on the other hand, thought nappies probably weren’t worth discussing. Maybe because I’m still very much in the routine of changing them, so nappies to me are like laundry powder. “New brand? Oh, that’s nice. It’s still washing and not that exciting.”  Except cleaning clothes is WAY more pleasant than changing nappies, so my conclusion was to leave Huggies and their denim diapers well alone.

But things just got weird. I’ll be filing this one under “What were they thinking!” because check out this TV ad.

Incase you can’t understand the voice over; this is what he actually says:

My diaper is full
Full of chic
When it’s a number 2
I look like number 1
I poo in blue

I don’t know what’s freakier… a nappy full of chic, (hmm that kind of rhymes with another 4 letter word) or the tag line “The coolest you’ll look pooping your pants.”

I wonder if the ad execs have ever seen a baby pooping. It’s actually quite disturbing, especially if their diet’s been a bit short on fibre.

My little girl hides, has done for months.  Even in strange places, she’ll find a corner somewhere and get down to business. On the odd occasion where I can see her face, I feel as though I’m violating her privacy, and turn away. Because babies faces look like ours do when we’re ‘releasing a demon. ‘

It’s not pretty, and it most certainly is not cool.

But nappy ad creators seem to be hell bent on making us think babies wearing their brand of nappies are one step ahead of us. Cooler than us, smarter than us, and always having the last laugh.

Actually now that I consider that…maybe they are.

Here are a couple of other ads that despite their obvious humour, still make me squirm and grateful my first baby came without a pointer. The whole experience was shocking enough without getting pissed on, thanks.

Anyway, I’ll be looking out to see if the denim diaper’s make their way to Australia. Not that I’ll be purchasing. Until they come up with a way to completely cover a nappy with sparkles or bling while keeping the price affordable, I’ll stick with the always-in-fashion-classic-white.

One comment

  1. Laura · May 29, 2010

    All I can think is that I don’t care what colour a nappy is … the most important thing is that it’s not the only barrier between me & my kid’s crap! They can trendy them up all they want to – I’m still going to put REAL pants on my kids. Plus – I would never hold anyone else’s baby if they only had a nappy on. I’ve got a kid – I know that’s no guaranty of protection from leaks & blow outs! Give me real baby jeans any day 🙂

Leave a Reply

