What’s that Skip? You want a roll in the hay!

So I was interstate last week, and consequently missed what just might be the story of the year!

As usual, NT News has been covering the hard hitting stories… The stuff others only hesitate to whisper behind closed doors – to their imaginary friends. 

On Friday, while I was reading headlines about trivia like the government’s tax on mining profit, or even this story: Northern Territory stalks WA’s lucrative mining business, NT News front page had far more relevant and important issues to report. The headline for my local paper read as follows:  HORNY ROO STALKS NT WOMAN 

Stalking by sexual predators is a very serious issue, and thankfully the NT News has reported this in time for the rest of us girls to be on the lookout, and practise extreme caution at all times in the event that we run into this guy:

The NT News reported the following last Friday:

A BRAWNY kangaroo that has been seeking love of late has focussed his lust on the women of a Territory town.

The well-endowed macropod has been hanging around the Honeymoon Ranges in Tennant Creek recently, making every effort to woo a woman.

One resident who walks along the bike track to the Mary Ann Dam regularly said she realised she was being followed early one morning.

“I turned around and saw this big kangaroo behind me, so I hastened my steps,” she said.

“It seemed a bit odd, but I continued walking and didn’t think much about it. Then on the return walk he was there waiting for me,” she said.

“With his male pride on full alert, he started circling me. There was no doubt about what he wanted, the randy old thing. It was a huge kangaroo and quite intimidating.”

“I yelled at him to go away, waved my hands about and let him know I wasn’t interested, but he was persistent – I’ll give him that.”

The woman said the roo bounded off when other walkers approached.

The jolly jumper made another appearance at a recent night-time speedway meeting.

Mother-of-three, Tanya Wilson, who was behind the pits, noticed he had come to check out the action.

“I thought it was strange that a kangaroo would come to such a noisy place, but I grew up around kangaroos so I went up to say hello,” she said. “There I was having a nice chat to him when I heard others calling out to me, warning me to step away.”

“I didn’t take any notice of them because I didn’t think I had anything to worry about. I thought he was just a cute, friendly kangaroo.”

Tanya was oblivious to the amorous nature of the interlude, but the kangaroo’s intentions were clearly evident to other speedway fans.

“Yeah, apparently he was quite aroused,” she said.

“I’m actually glad I didn’t notice.”

 

Ok so I don’t even want to imagine what a kangaroo’s ‘male pride on full alert’ looks like. In fact I feel quite unpatriotic just typing it.

But seriously, was this a case of a kangaroo who thinks it’s human, or worse – two Territory women who resemble marsupials?   

I’m pretty sure Kangaroos know the difference, although having spent the morning reminiscing over Skippy clips on You Tube, perhaps this is just another Super-Roo waiting to be discovered.

Skippy was a crime fighting marsupial who became a TV superstar, and helped establish an Australian identity that was embraced the world over.  The land down under had arrived courtesy of a kangaroo.  Here are a couple of clips I found.  Aaah. Memories!

Well Australian drama has come a long way since Skippy made an appearance on our televisions. If Skippy wanted to get his face on telly today, he might not make the cut. The prerequisites have changed… Welcome to the world of Underbelly.

   

Skippy would now be required to chase bad guys (check), have a drink with the boys (check), and make drug deals at a strip club after numerous sex scenes… (ooh, sorry Skip, no experience there).

But wait!!!

One such kangaroo is daring to go where no other kangaroo has gone before. Paving the way for would-be marsupial stars everywhere. A pioneer for the “Kangaroo to Win Logie” cause, showing us all he’s not afraid of full frontal nudity or chasing the girls.  And this kangaroo can be found in Tennant Creek, Northern Territory.

And forget calling the show Skippy, (and a G rating.) The new version starring the NT’s own Horny Roo will now go by the name Stiffy.

2 comments

  1. Anne · May 20, 2010

    Very funny, love your work.

  2. Pingback: Slinging MUD… When words become weapons & the NT News becomes TRASH. « Cyclone Cindy

Leave a Reply

