Ricky Martin is Gay! In other news, President Obama is black, the Pope is catholic, and Cindy is in denial!

Actually I happen to have it on very good authority that Ricky Martin spent the evening of Tuesday 30 October …. In Melbourne following his final concert of his year-long tour, at Crown Towers Hotel on the top floor…. With SIX WOMEN!

Not that we all weren’t questioning his sexual tendencies way back then, everyone was. But there was that inkling of doubt with some… (well with me anyway).

I mean c’mon, She bangs She bangs? What was he referring to? His house keeper? Banging Banging on the door to let her in so she can Move and Groove around the floors with the vacuum cleaner? Did she look like the devil, but was busy like a bee? Cause the woman’s got one thing on her mind….    cleaning?

This is the Ricky that first got my attention. I was living in Sydney, it was the Autumn of 1998 and a girl I lived with Abi was screaming at me to come and watch something on the TV.

It was Ricky Martin singing in Spanglish… Maria. We were both equally mesmerized at the time, and sought out his CD in the non-English speaking section of the Music store. At the time he was not main stream.

 Then he sang that song for the World Cup soccer and Ricky Martin became a HUGE star.

I won’t share my Ricky Martin story at the risk of sounding like a little tramp. Let me just say the night of his concert in Melbourne was amazing… me in my red leather pants, Ricky in his… Meeting the dancers… Mmmm. Good times!

Oh I don’t know, how about I just ad Ricky to the list of: Men I Have Fallen in Love With That Have Too Many Gay Tendencies To Be Straight. It has happened plenty! I think that’s why I had to marry the blokiest bloke I could find. Even my maid of honour and best cousin Danielle made jokes about it in her speech at my wedding.

“In the past Cindy has dated men who she had a lot in common with. They would both sit and watch Singing in the Rain together, have couple facials and sessions at the solarium, they would both be obsessed with George Michael, and would both equally enjoy spinning around on the dance floor.”

Or something along those lines. Actually you know the gay one in Clueless, Christian? Spitting image of one of my exes.  Similar behaviour too.

 

So Ricky came out of the closet. A see through closet with big holes looking in.  And gay men the world over breathed a sigh of relief and said FINALLY!  

I might have been unsure of his sexuality back when his star was still shining brightly but these days his appeal has diminished, and sadly the world was far more interested in Heidi Montag’s 10 plastic surgery procedures than anything he did to help the Haiti appeal… because the world has simply made an assumption that by not answering questions about being gay – he must be.

I think when he really came out of the closet, perhaps without realising… was when he had 2 baby boys back in 2008. There aren’t many straight single men who use surrogates and have twin boys… Are there?

 

He posted the following on his official website early yesterday:

ENGLISH VERSION 

A few months ago I decided to write my memoirs, a project I knew was going to bring me closer to an amazing turning point in my life. From the moment I wrote the first phrase I was sure the book was the tool that was going to help me free myself from things I was carrying within me for a long time. Things that  were too heavy for me to keep inside. Writing this account of my life, I got very close to my truth. And this is something worth celebrating.
 
For many years, there has been only one place where I am in touch with my emotions fearlessly and that’s the stage. Being on stage fills my soul in many ways, almost completely. It’s my vice.  The music, the lights and the roar of the audience are elements that make me feel capable of anything. This rush of adrenaline is incredibly addictive.  I don’t ever want to stop feeling these emotions. But it is serenity that brings me to where I’m at right now. An amazing emotional place of comprehension, reflection and enlightenment. At this moment I’m feeling the same freedom I usually feel only on stage, without a doubt, I need to share.
 
Many people told me: “Ricky it’s not important”, “it’s not worth it”, “all the years you’ve worked and everything you’ve built will collapse”, “many people in the world are not ready to accept your truth, your reality, your nature”. Because all this advice came from people who I love dearly, I decided to move on with my life not sharing with the world my entire truth.  Allowing myself to be seduced by fear and insecurity became a self-fulfilling prophecy of sabotage. Today I take full responsibility for my decisions and my actions.

If someone asked me today, “Ricky, what are you afraid of?” I would answer “the blood that runs through the streets of countries at war…child slavery, terrorism…the cynicism of some people in positions of power, the misinterpretation of faith.” But fear of my truth? Not at all!  On the contrary, It fills me with strength and courage. This is just what I need especially now that I am the father of two beautiful boys that are so full of light and who with their outlook teach me new things every day. To keep living as I did up until today would be to indirectly diminish the glow that my kids where born with. Enough is enough. This has to change. This was not supposed to happen 5 or 10 years ago, it is supposed to happen now. Today is my day, this is my time, and this is my moment.
What will happen from now on? It doesn’t matter. I can only focus on what’s happening to me in this moment. The word “happiness” takes on a new meaning for me as of today. It has been a very intense process. Every word that I write in this letter is born out of love, acceptance, detachment and real contentment. Writing this is a solid step towards my inner peace and vital part of my evolution.

These years in silence and reflection made me stronger and reminded me that acceptance has to come from within and that this kind of truth gives me the power to conquer emotions I didn’t even know existed.

I am proud to say that I am a fortunate homosexual man. I am very blessed to be who I am. 

 I guess I’m happy for him, he sounds so relieved and happy and settled and at peace. No more livin la vida l0ca for this guy!

In some way when you’ve thought a man was hot for that long, and fantasised about singing “Private Emotion” on stage with him…  it’s a bit like falling in love with ice cream you THINK is low fat but is so delicious and perhaps a little too creamy and so you kind of suspected it might NOT be low fat… and then you find out it’s FULL fat – and in fact is actually very bad for you. (Because falling for a gay man is very bad for you, the ultimate rejection.) 

 

I hope he continues to make fantastic music. I posted a blog yesterday about music and how certain tunes make us move differently. Ricky Martin… dancing with your music inspired moves out of me I never knew I had.

2 comments

  1. Dani · March 31, 2010

    This is gold Cindy. Never realized you actually had a blog site set up. Good on you and thanks for the updates. I’ll be checking them out on a regular basis now. Hope all is well on the West side xo

  2. Pingback: I kissed a girl, and I liked it. « Cyclone Cindy

Leave a Reply

