This morning I tasted Pussy.

No, it’s not a metaphor for anything. I actually. Drank. Pussy.

Pussy is a new (well I’ve never seen it but I DO live in Darwin) 100% Natural Energy drink. It comes in a skinny white can with black and pink writing, and I would put it in the same beverage family as Red Bull, Mother, V etc…

Reading their website was quite the profound journey for me. First was a page with a quote from Oscar Wilde, “Moderation is a fatal thing. Nothing succeeds like success.” This quote changes each time you log on. Then in fine print at the bottom of the page was this small sentence. “Looking for Pussy? To find out which bars and clubs stock Pussy, call us on 1300 PUSSY. ” Ugh, naturally!

The website is good. Simple and clever and consistent with the branding.… and aimed at certain males…. Metros, Yuppies, those not afraid to wear pink.
Here are some snippets. And be prepared, this energy drink may be 100% natural, but the drink has a personality, and values. I’ve bolded the bits I like the best.

The name Pussy shocks and demands attention – that’s the point. Inhibition is a recipe for mediocrity. This is a premium energy drink named with confidence.

Pussy launched in Australia in August 2009 and has met with a terrific response. We’re working to make sure you can get Pussy whenever and where ever you want it.

PersonalityPussy is spontaneous, entertaining, optimistic and fun. It’s a starting point. A moment when something happens and when things begin – Pussy starts conversations. It believes in having a good time as often as possible.

Values – Pussy is the first truly premium energy drink. We have sourced the best ingredients to create a great taste and a natural lift.

We believe in challenging the consensus – and moving things forward. Pussy is about natural energy, it’s irreverent, sophisticated and a pleasure to drink. Pussy is NOT about being serious, chemical energy, having a corporate attitude or being predictable.

Pussy is unique. It is made with a blend of fresh white grape juice from Southern Italy, pressed Mexican limes and lightly carbonated water. These are then mixed with Grenadilla and Lychee flavours, infused with six selected botanical herbs : Milk Thistle – Guarana – Siberian Ginseng – Sarsaparilla Schizandra Gingko Biloba

Look up any of those herbs, and they claim to do amazing things which will benefit our minds and bodies. A full run down on all the benefits is on the site, and truly – after reading all about them, it made me think that not only do I want Pussy every day, I NEED Pussy every day. And when the can was empty this morning, I did wish that I had more Pussy.

(PLEASE – if you’re going to visit the site for more information, make sure you put the word ‘drink’ after ‘pussy’. I didn’t and was slightly horrified to see a blonde policewoman wearing an outfit hardly appropriate for running after bad guys. Black eyes anyone? )

So I’m thinking that this drink is revolutionary. Not only because of the natural improvements to the mind and body, and the fact that taste-wise it is actually LOVELY… (refreshing and not too sweet like most), but also for the name. Jonnie Shearer, the 21 year old from the UK was really onto something when he had a ‘vision’ from his bedroom. Yes. Yes. I bet he did!

Which Energy Drink is leading the way at the moment? It depends which country you live in. But I would like to predict here and now that very soon Pussy is going to take over. Pussy is going to RULE.

EPILOGUE:
So I’m thinking of having my own bedroom vision. Yes I think I’ll create my own new natural energy drink with a big rooster on the can. Guess what I’ll call it? I don’t know what herbs I’ll use yet, but they’ll be good ones. And it will come in a GREAT BIG HUGE can, one so hard that it won’t crush. I’m not sure how I’ll market it yet, but I’m sure you get the drift….

3 comments

  1. Dara · March 10, 2010

    Great article Cindy, Makes me want Pussy too!

  2. Pingback: What do YOU think? « Cyclone Cindy
  3. Pingback: My milkshake brings all the boys to the yard… « Cyclone Cindy

Leave a Reply

